Nursing Assistant

CNA 1

This course follows the curriculum designed & approved by the Oregon State Board of Nursing for certification of Nursing Assistants. A Nursing Assistant assists licensed nursing personnel in the provision of nursing care in hospitals, long-term care facilities, or community-based settings.

Prerequisites

  • Basic Skills Assessment
  • Negative TB Skin Test
  • Proof of Measles Immunity
  • Must be physically able to hear and see patients in need and engage in therapeutic communication.

 

CNA 2 - CURRENTLY NOT OFFERING

This course is designed to assist the Certified Nursing Assistant 1 (CNA 1) with developing the knowledge and skills necessary to become a Certified Nursing Assistant 2 (CNA 2) Acute Care.

Course consists of 40 hours of classroom instruction and 24 hours of clinical instruction. This is a non-credit course which provides 9 continuing education units. Payment is required at the time of registration.

Prerequisites

  • Current unencumbered CNA 1 Certificate
  • Name listed on CNA registry at OSBN
  • Negative TB skin test within last six months
  • Proof of Measles immunity if born after January 1, 1957
  • Must be physically able to hear and see patients in need and to engage in therapeutic communication.

Medication Aide - CURRENTLY NOT OFFERING

This course will prepare the successful CNA 1 or CNA 2 student to perform the tasks necessary to become a Certified Medication Aide (CMA) in Oregon and to understand this role in health care. The course consists of up to 92 hours combined classroom and clinical instruction. Upon successful completion of these hours, students will be eligible to sit for the Oregon State Board of Nursing Medication Aide Examination.

Classes

Course Name Credits
NUR 90 Nursing Assistant 1 9
Namesort descending Title Email Phone
Holli Elton Nursing Assistant Instructor helton@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6141
Carol Fisher Nursing Assistant Instructor cfisher@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6141
Angela Johnston Angela Jones Nursing & Health Occupations Administrative Assistant ajones@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6141
Karren Middleton Karren Middleton Nursing Instructor, CNA program kmiddleton@cgcc.edu
Patricia Schluter Nursing Assistant Instructor pschluter@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6141
A. Lynette Shere Nursing Instructor lshere@cgcc.edu (541) 506-6141