Computer Applications and Office Systems

The Computer Applications and Office Systems (CAS/OS) program prepares students for careers in administrative support. Many students take our courses to improve their current job skills or to learn new skills to move into a new career.

Courses in CAS/OS are intended to meet business career needs for:

  • administrative assistants
  • secretaries, receptionists
  • file clerks and data entry personnel
  • web creation

Workers in these positions may perform a wide variety of duties as:

  • working with modern office technology to produce and file business documents
  • greeting the public
  • planning and scheduling
  • accounting
  • creating web pages

All CAS/OS courses are offered yearly with many offered every term. Courses are offered on campus, as hybrid (on ground and online) and online. Check the term schedule to see when the courses you want are offered.

Open Educational Resources for CAOS

Classes

Course Name Credits
CAS 101 Introduction to Web Design & Development 1
CAS 102 Marketing with Social Media 3
CAS 103W Introduction to Computers: Using Windows 1
CAS 104 Basic Internet Skills 1
CAS 108 Beginning Photoshop 3
CAS 109 Digital Presentations 1
CAS 110 Introduction to Web Graphics - Adobe Fireworks 1
CAS 121 Beginning Keyboarding 3
CAS 121A Beginning Keyboarding 1
CAS 122 Keyboarding for Speed and Accuracy 3
CAS 123 Production Keyboarding 3
CAS 133 Intro to Office Software 4
CAS 140 Beginning Databases 4
CAS 170 Beginning Spreadsheets using Excel 3
CAS 180 Search Engine Optimization 2
CAS 181 Web Content Management 3
CAS 200 Web Trends 1
CAS 206 Web Design with HTML 4
CAS 213 Cascading Style Sheets 4
CAS 215 JavaScript and jQuery 4
CAS 216 Beginning Word 3
CAS 217 Intermediate Word 3
CAS 225 Database Theory and MySQL 4
CAS 230 Design Principles 3
CAS 231 Desktop Publishing 3
CAS 246 Integrated Computer Projects 4
CAS 270 Intermediate Spreadsheets using Excel 3
OS 131 10-key for Business 1
OS 220 Business Editing 4
OS 240 Filing and Records Management 4
OS 245 Office Systems and Procedures 4
OS 280F Cooperative Education: Administrative Assistant
OS 280G Cooperative Education: Administrative Assistant Seminar 1
Name Title Email Phone
Andrea Ware Computer Applications/Office Systems Instructor / Writing & Literature aware@cgcc.edu
Carol Jordan Computer Applications/Office Systems Instructor caroljordan@cgcc.edu
Eric Greene Eric Greene Computer Applications/Office Systems Instructor egreene@cgcc.edu
Grace Windsheimer Grace Windsheimer Computer Applications/Office Systems Instructor gwindsheimer@cgcc.edu
Linda Hughitt Linda Hughitt Computer Applications/Office Systems Instructor lhughitt@cgcc.edu
Patrick Hawke Computer Applications/Office Systems Instructor phawke@cgcc.edu
Siri Olson Siri Olson Computer Applications/Office Systems Instructor solson@cgcc.edu